Katsuyuki Sakuma  Katsuyuki Sakuma photo       

contact information

Research Staff Member
Thomas J. Watson Research Center, Yorktown Heights, NY USA


Professional Associations

Professional Associations:  IEEE Components, Packaging and Manufacturing Technology Society  |  IEEE, Senior Member


Katsuyuki Sakuma is a research staff member in IBM T. J. Watson Research Center. His research interests include 3D integration technologies, bonding technologies, and advanced packaging. He has published more than 85 peer-reviewed journal papers and conference proceeding papers, including three book chapters. He has also been the lead author of work at the Electronics Components and Technology Conference (ECTC) (2007-2016). He also holds 35 issued or pending U.S. and international patents. He has been recognized with IBM Outstanding Technical Achievement Award (OTAA) in 2015. He was given the 2017 Alumni Achievement Award from his Alma Mater, School of Engineering, Tohoku University, for his exceptional contribution to 3D chip stack technology development in the global microelectronics packaging industry. He received the B.S. and M.S. degrees from Tohoku University, respectively, and Ph.D. degree from Waseda University, Japan. He is a senior member of IEEE and a member of the Japan Society of Applied Physics (JSAP). He has served in the IEEE ECTC Interconnections sub-committee from 2012, and in the IEEE 3DIC technical program committee from 2016. He is current committee chair of the IEEE ECTC Interconnections sub-committee.


Professional Activities

Associate Editor
   IEEE Transactions on Components, Packaging and Manufacturing Technology (CPMT)  (2016 - present )
   Institute of Electronics, Information and Communication Engineers (IEICE)  (2003 -- 2005)
Technical Committee Chair
   IEEE Electronic Components and Technology Conference (ECTC) (2016, 2017)
Technical Committee Member
   IEEE Electronic Components and Technology Conference (ECTC) (2012 - present )
   IEEE International 3D Systems Integration Conference (3DIC) (2016 - present )