Shivkumar Kalyanaraman  Shivkumar Kalyanaraman photo         

contact information

Chief Scientist
IBM Research - Australia, Melbourne, Australia


Professional Associations

Professional Associations:  ACM SIGCOMM  |  ACM SIGMETRICS  |  ACM SIGMOBILE  |  IEEE  |  IEEE Communications Society


Shivkumar Kalyanaraman serves as the Chief Scientist of IBM Research - Australia, and is a Senior Technical Staff Member (STSM). Previously he was a Senior Manager of the Next Gen Systems & Smarter Planet Solutions Department at IBM India Research Labs, Bangalore. Prior to this, he was a Manager of the Next Generation Telecom Research group and a Research Staff Member since 2008. Before joining IBM, he was a full Professor at the Department of Electrical, Computer and Systems Engineering at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in Troy, NY. He received a B.Tech degree in Computer Science from the Indian Institute of Technology, Madras, India in July 1993, followed by M.S. and Ph.D. degrees at the Ohio State University in 1994 and 1997 respectively. He also holds an Executive M.B.A. (EMBA) degree from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (2005). His current research in IBM is at the intersection of emerging wireless technologies and IBM middleware and systems technologies with applications to large-scale smarter planet problems (natural resources, energy, network traffic etc). He was selected by MIT's Technology Review Magazine in 1999 as one of the top 100 young innovators for the new millenium. He served as the TPC Co-chair of IEEE INFOCOM 2008, and General co-chair of ACM SIGCOMM 2010 in New Delhi. He served on the editorial board of IEEE/ACM Transactions of Networking. He is a Fellow of the IEEE, and an ACM Distinguished Scientist. He is a visiting professor at Universiti Brunei Darussalam, where he co-founded and directs the UBD | IBM Centre, a nationally significant Smarter Planet collaboration between the country of Brunei and IBM.

External (personal) web site.

News: ACM names its 2010 distinguished members: external url . Seven IBMers are among the 47 honorees.