Christophe P. Rossel  Christophe P. Rossel photo         

contact information

Emeritus Research Staff Member
Zurich Research Laboratory, Zurich, Switzerland



Christophe Rossel (Swiss, born in Neuchâtel in 1952) received his PhD in Solid State Physics in 1981 at the University of Geneva with a study of the critical current densities in Chevrel phase superconductors.

He took post doctoral fellow positions in Geneva, working on magnetic field induced superconductivity (Jaccarino-Peter effect), and at the University of California, San Diego (UCSD), where he became associate research scientist and lecturer (1983-87). His research activity focused there on the properties of heavy electron superconductors.

In 1987, he joined the IBM Research - Zurich Laboratory in Rüschlikon as a Research Staff Member. After some work on resonant tunneling in III-V heterostructures, he focused his efforts essentially on high-temperature superconductors.

His fields of expertise in experimental condensed matter physics are superconductivity and magnetism, transport and tunneling spectroscopy in metals and semiconductors. His recent research on advanced functional materials has been on switching phenomena in oxide-based nonvolatile memories, on the characterization of high-k dielectrics and metal gates for CMOS technology.

His group has long-time expertise on the growth of thin films of oxides, in particular perovskites, by molecular beam epitaxy (MBE) and their integration in MOSFET transistors with high mobility channel materials (Ge, III-V) for high performance logic electronics. A new field of interest is the growth and study of lead free piezoelectric films for acoustic resonators (RF filters), optical modulators and nano-mechanical switches for logic and memory applications.

Author of more than 180 scientific articles and 7 patents, C. Rossel is a recipient of an IBM Research Division Award (1988) and Outstanding Technical Achievement Award (1997).

In his various functions at IBM he supervised many bachelor, master and PhD students, as well as postdoctoral fellows. Member of several advisory and editorial boards (e.g., New Journal of Physics, Europhysics News) he acted also as chair/vice-chair of national and international conferences and workshops. He contributed as key investigator and partner in different national or international R&D projects within the EU FP7-ICT programs, or the Swiss and CTI Entrepreneurship programs. He is retired from IBM Research –Zurich since 2014, but remains affiliated with the status of emeritus RSM.

He has a long time experience with learned societies and scientific affairs at national and international level. He was Executive Secretary of the European Physical Society (EPS) between 1999 and 2005. He is member (since 2012) and chair (since 2014) of the Board of Directors of EPL (former Europhysics Letters), member of the EPS Technology Group (since 2001), of the Energy Group (since 2007) and of the EPS Forum Physics and Society (since 2006). He was also member of the steering committee of the International Year of Physics in 2005. He is fellow of the Institute of Physics (IOP FInstP) since 1999 and of the EPS since 2011. In 2015 he was elected member of the Swiss Academy of Technical Sciences, SATW.

He was president of the Swiss Physical Society (SPS) from 2008 to 2012. After his position as president-elect of the European Physical Society in 2014, he is now EPS president since 2015 until 2017.

Details about publications can also be found under