Criteria for Josef Raviv Memorial Postdoctoral Fellowship     


Criteria for Josef Raviv Memorial Postdoctoral Fellowship - overview

Award targets recent recipient of Ph.D. in computer science or computer engineering

Josef Raviv

IBM Research sponsors the Josef Raviv Memorial Postdoctoral Fellowship in Computer Science and Computer Engineering, an annual award made to a recent Ph.D. recipient who shows exceptional promise for a research career in computer science or computer engineering.

The fellowship honors the memory of Dr. Josef Raviv (pictured), the founder and director of the IBM Research Laboratory in Haifa. Dr. Raviv had a distinguished research career in Information Theory and was a pioneer in the Israeli high-tech industry (see Related links).

The fellowship applies to one year, with an opportunity for IBM to renew for an additional year. The stipend will be at least $100,000 (may be prorated if an IBM Research lab outside the U.S. is selected) plus reasonable moving and travel expenses.

Depending on proposed collaborations, the Fellow will spend most of his/her time at a lab of his/her choice from one of IBM's Research labs including: Almaden Research Center (San Jose, California, USA), Austin Research Lab (Texas, USA), China Research Lab (Beijing), Haifa Research Lab (Israel), India Research Lab (Delhi or Bangalore), Tokyo Research Lab (Japan), Thomas J. Watson Research Center (Westchester County, New York, or Cambridge, MA, USA), Zurich Research Lab (Switzerland). The Fellow will be free to follow his/her own research interests, but is expected to work closely with other IBM researchers. Applicants are encouraged to identify IBM Research groups working in their area of their interest.

Application requirements

  • Resume (include contact e-mail, postal address and phone number)
  • Thesis summary (one page maximum)
  • Research proposal (no more than two pages, if possible)
  • Indicate the proposed lab. If you know of a specific group (s) which you would like to join and/or researcher (s) you would like to work with, indicate that as well. If there are multiple groups, list at most three.
  • Reprint of applicant's most significant research publication
  • Three (3) reference letters, including one from the Ph.D. thesis advisor. Letters should be sent directly by recommenders to:

The applicant is responsible for ensuring that all required materials arrive by the deadline. All documents must contain the applicant's name and email address (we prefer information as PDF or Word documents) and be sent to:

A committee of IBM researchers will select the Fellow.

Applicants will be notified by March 31 of any given calendar year. The fellowship begins in September, unless another date is agreed upon.

IBM is committed to creating a diversified environment and is proud to be an equal opportunity employer.

Related links

About Josef Raviv

The final journey

Fellowship recipients

2010: Colin Blundell (University of Pennsylvania)

2009: Ryan Williams (CMU)

2008: Mihai Patrascu and Vinod Vaikuntanathan (MIT)

2007: Michael Moffitt (University of Michigan)

2006: Jun Chen (Cornell University)

2005: Lexing Xie (Columbia University)

2004: Zhenhai Zhu (MIT)

2003: Matthias Ruhl (MIT)

2002: Yehudah Lindell (Weizmann Institute)