IBM Computer Science Award Recipients     


IBM Computer Science Award Recipients - overview

A.M. Turing Award Recipients

The A.M. Turing Award of the Association for Computing Machinery is the organization's most prestigious technical award. It is given to an individual selected for contributions of a technical nature made to the computing community.


Frances E. Allen for pioneering contributions to the theory and practice of optimizing compiler techniques that laid the foundation for modern optimizing compilers and automatic parallel execution.


Frederick P. Brooks for landmark contributions to computer architecture, operating systems, and software engineering.


John Cocke for significant contributions in the design and theory of compilers, the architecture of large systems and the development of reduced instruction set computers (RISC); for discovering and systematizing many fundamental transformations now used in optimizing compilers including reduction of operator strength, elimination of common subexpressions, register allocation, constant propagation, and dead code elimination.


Edgar F. Codd for his fundamental and continuing contributions to the theory and practice of database management systems. He originated the relational approach to database management in a series of research papers published commencing in 1970. His paper "A Relational Model of Data for Large Shared Data Banks" was a seminal paper, in a continuing and carefully developed series of papers. Dr. Codd built upon this space and in doing so has provided the impetus for widespread research into numerous related areas, including database languages, query subsystems, database semantics, locking and recovery, and inferential subsystems.


Kenneth E. Iverson for his pioneering effort in programming languages and mathematical notation resulting in what the computing field now knows as APL, for his contributions to the implementation of interactive systems, to educational uses of APL, and to programming language theory and practice.


John Backus for profound, influential, and lasting contributions to the design of practical high-level programming systems, notably through his work on FORTRAN, and for seminal publication of formal procedures for the specification of programming languages.

National Medal of Technology

For more than 40 years of semiconductor innovation: IBM (2005 corporate award winner)

For 40 years of innovations in the technology of hard-disk drives and information-storage products: IBM (2000 corporate award winner)

For the discovery and development of amorphous magnetic materials: P. Chaudhari (1995); J. J. Cuomo (1995); R. J. Gambino (1995)

For his invention and contribution to the commercialization of bar code technology which improved productivity in every industrial sector and gave rise to the bar code industry: J. N. Woodland (1992)

For RISC Architecture: J. Cocke (1991)

For his invention of the basic, one-transistor dynamic memory cell used worldwide in virtually all modern computers: R. H. Dennard (1988)

For pioneering the development of the computer disk file (350 RAMAC): R. B. Johnson (1986)

For revolutionizing the computer industry in developing the IBM/360 computer: E. Bloch (1985); F. P. Brooks (1985); B. O. Evans (1985)

National Medal of Science

Richard Garwin (2003)

John Cocke (1994)

Ralph Gomory (1988)

Herman Goldstine (1983)

John Backus (1975)

Wolf Foundation Prize

1993: Benoit Mandelbrot

IBM Fellows

"IBM Fellow" is the highest technical honor at IBM Research. Fellows are selected for sustained and distinguished technical achievements in engineering, programming and technology and are granted a wide sphere of independence in the pursuit of their research. Since the program began in 1962, only 217 people have been designated IBM Fellows.