ThinkQ 2015 - Challenges and applications for medium size quantum computers - Schedule

December 2nd

8:30-9:00 AM Registration & Arrival

9:00-9:15 AM Opening Remarks and Overview

9:15-9:30 AM Dario Gil (VP of S&T IBM)

9:30-10:15 AM Prof. Isaac Chuang (MIT)

10:15-10:30 AM Break

10:30-11:15 AM Prof. Philippe Grangier (Institut d'Optique)

11:15-12 PM Prof. Scott Aaronson (MIT)

12-1:30 PM Lunch & Poster Session

1:30-2:15 PM Prof. Philip Walther (University of Vienna)

2:15-3:00 PM Prof. Christopher Monroe (University of Maryland/JQI)

3-3:15 PM Break

3:15-4:00 PM Presentation by the IBM Applied Insights Social Survey

4:00-4:15 PM Break and Discussion

4:15-6:00 PM Poster Session and Guided Tour Groups


December 3rd

9:15-9:30 AM Recap of Day 1

9:30-10:15 AM Prof. Rob Schoelkopf (Yale University)

10:15-10:30 AM Break

10:30-11:15 AM Prof. Edward Farhi (MIT)

11:15-12:00 PM Prof. David Cory (University of Waterloo, IQC)

12:00-1:30 PM Lunch and Poster Session

1:30 - 2:15 PM Dr. Will Oliver (MIT/Lincoln Labs)

2:15-3:00 PM Dr. Jerry Chow (IBM)

3:00-3:15 PM Break

3:15-4:00 PM Prof. Peter Zoller (University of Innsbruck)

4:00-4:45 PM Industry Panel Discussion

                        Mark Gibbons (Lead Line Architect, JP Morgan)

                        Carl J. Williams Jr. (Deputy Director of the Physical Measurement Laboratory, NIST)

                        Mark Ritter (Senior Manager and distinguished RSM, IBM)

                        Andrew Schoen (Associate, NEA venture capital firm)

4:45-5:45 PM Discussion & Poster Session

5:45-8:15 PM Conference Dinner 


December 4th

9:15-9:30 AM Recap of Day 2 

9:30-10:15 AM Prof. David Poulin (University of Sherbrooke)

10:15-10:30 AM Break

10:30-11:15 AM Prof. Andrea Morello (UNSW)

11:15-12 PM Prof. David DiVincenzo (RWTH Aachen)

12-12:15 Concluding Remarks

12:15-1:15 Lunch to go











Invited Speakers

Rob Schoelkopf (Yale)
David Cory (IQC)
Isaac Chuang (MIT)
William D. Oliver (LL/MIT)
Ed Farhi (MIT)
David DiVincenzo (RWTH Aachen)
Philip Walther (University of Vienna)
Christopher Monroe (JQI)
Scott Aaronson (MIT)
Peter Zoller (Innsbruck)
David Poulin (Sherbrooke)
Philippe Grangier (Institut d’Optique)
Andrea Morello (UNSW)


December 2-4, 2015


IBM TJ Watson Research Center Yorktown Heights, NY

Organizing Committee

Jay Gambetta, IBM
Matthias Steffen, IBM
Jerry Chow, IBM